We are wide awake,
so that you can sleep well.
Managing Partner
Financial Consultant FH, Marketing

Matthias Hug

Managing Partner
Chief Executive Officer

Patrick Künzler

Managing Partner
Chairman of the Board of Directors

Martin Schäpper

Managing Partner
Compliance & Risk Management

Stefan Jermann

Senior Consultant

Walter Lohri

Senior Financial Consultant

Urs Ledermann

Member of the Board of Directors

Marc O. Stöckli

Member of the Board of Directors

Ralf J. Nadler

Member of the Board of Directors

Awards

The Swiss business magazine “BILANZ” periodically examines the results of independent asset managers and compiles rankings of the investment strategies managed by them. The returns of various investment strategies developed and actively managed by Matthias Hug (Head of Investment Management) have received awards in these “BILANZ” rankings:

«Asset Manager of the Year 2022» and 1st places in investment ranking of BILANZ 2022

The asset manager with the best results over all risk categories receives from “BILANZ” the award of the «Asset Manager of the Year». 2022 Format received this prestigious award for the achieved investment results over 24 months and over 36 months.

Our investment strategy «Format Swiss Mid & Small Cap Equity» was awarded 1st ranks over 12, 24 and 36 months in the respective risk category, “Format Balanced International” and “Format Conservative” achieved 1st ranks over 24 and 36 months, and “Format Swiss Equity” received a 1st rank over 12 months.

The test and its results are documented in the article
«Rendite-Varieté» in the issue 03/2022 of «BILANZ»
(or under  www.firstfive.ch).

«Asset Manager of the Year 2021» and 1st places in investment ranking of BILANZ 2021

The asset manager with the best results over all risk categories receives from “BILANZ” the award of the «Asset Manager of the Year». 2021 Format received this prestigious award for the achieved investment results over 12 months and over 24 months.

Our investment strategies «Format Balanced International» und «Format Conservative» were awarded 1st ranks over 12 months and over 24 months in the risk categories «Balanced» resp. «Conservative». In addition, our strategy «Format Swiss Mid & Small Cap Equity» achieved the best performance in the risk category «Dynamic» over 12 months and over 24 months. 

 

Format Swiss Mid &
Small Cap Equity:
1st place in the investment rating of BILANZ 2022, 2020, 2019, 2018 and 2017

Our investment strategy “Format Swiss Mid & Small Cap Equity” is based on an actively managed equity investment strategy developed by Matthias Hug. In the “BILANZ” rankings for the years 2022, 2020, 2019, 2018 and 2017, this strategy took first place in the corresponding investment category.

The test and its results are documented in issues 03/2022, 03/2020, 03/2019, 03/2018 and 05/2017 of “BILANZ”.

Format Swiss Equity:
1st place in the investment rating of BILANZ 2022

Our investment strategy “Format Swiss Equity” was awarded a first place in the “BILANZ” ranking for the years 2022 in the corresponding risk category.

 

The test and its results are documented in the issues 03/2022 of “BILANZ”.

Format Balanced International and Format Conservative:
1st place in the investment rating of BILANZ 2022 and 2021

Our investment strategies “Format Balanced International” and “Format Conservative” achieved a first place in the “BILANZ” rankings for the years 2022 and 2021 in the corresponding risk categories.

 

The test and its results are documented in the issues 03/2022 and 03/2021 of “BILANZ”.

Format Global Bonds
1st place in the investment
rating of BILANZ 2013

Our investment strategy “Format Global Bond” is based on a bond investment strategy developed and actively managed by Matthias Hug. This strategy has been ranked first in the “BILANZ” 2013 ranking in the corresponding risk category.

The test and its results are documented in the article “Geldkönige” in the 06/2013 issue of “BILANZ”.

Award as leading independent asset manager

The Swiss business magazine “BILANZ” has conducted a large-scale test of independent Swiss asset managers. The ten best asset managers were awarded the rating “very good” – including Matthias Hug (then working for Hug Invest AG). Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hens, head of the Institute for Swiss Banking at the University of Zurich, developed the test and is quoted as saying that “the best independent asset managers are better than the banks”.

The test and its results are documented in the article “Die Besten Unabhängigen” in the 18/2010 issue of “BILANZ”.

Wir sind hellwach,
damit Sie gut schlafen.
Geschäftsführender Partner
Financial Consultant, Marketing

Matthias Hug

Geschäftsführender Partner
Vorsitzender der Geschäftsleitung

Patrick Künzler

Geschäftsführender Partner
Verwaltungsratspräsident

Ibrahim Gürlek

Compliance & Risk Management

Stefan Jermann

Senior Consultant

Walter Lohri

Senior Financial Consultant

Urs Ledermann

Verwaltungsrat

Marc O. Stöckli

Verwaltungsrat

Ralf J. Nadler

Verwaltungsrat

Auszeichnungen

Das Schweizer Wirtschaftsmagazin „BILANZ“ untersucht periodisch die Resultate von unabhängigen Schweizer Vermögensverwaltern und erstellt unter anderem Ranglisten der von diesen gemanagten Anlagestrategien. Die Rendite verschiedener von Matthias Hug (Leiter Investment Management) entwickelten und aktiv gemanagten Anlagestrategien wurde in diesen „BILANZ“-Rankings ausgezeichnet:

«Vermögensverwalter des Jahres 2022» sowie 1. Ränge im Anlage Rating 2022

An den Vermögensverwalter, der die besten Ergebnisse über alle Risikokategorien erzielt hat, vergibt die BILANZ die Auszeichnung des «Vermögensverwalters des Jahres». 2022 hat Format diese besondere Auszeichnung erhalten für die Anlageergebnisse über 24 Monate und über 36 Monate.

Unsere Anlagestrategie «Format Aktien Schweiz mittlere und kleinere Firmen» wurde im BILANZ-Ranking 2022 in der entsprechenden Risikokategorie mit einem 1. Platz über 12, 24 und 36 Monate ausgezeichnet, «Format Ausgewogen International» und «Format Konservativ» jeweils mit einem 1. Platz über 24 und 36 Monate sowie «Format Aktien Schweiz» mit einem 1. Platz über 12 Monate.

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert in der Ausgabe 03/2022 der «BILANZ» (siehe dazu auch www.firstfive.ch).

«Vermögensverwalter des Jahres 2021» sowie 1. Ränge im Anlage Rating 2021

An den Vermögensverwalter, der die besten Ergebnisse über alle Risikokategorien erzielt hat, vergibt die BILANZ die Auszeichnung des «Vermögensverwalters des Jahres». 2021 hat Format diese besondere Auszeichnung erhalten für die Anlageergebnisse über 12 Monate und über 24 Monate.

Unsere Anlagestrategien «Format Ausgewogen International» und «Format Konservativ» wurden im BILANZ-Ranking 2021 mit dem 1. Platz über 12 Monate und über 24 Monate in den Risikokategorien «Ausgewogen» bzw. «Konservativ» ausgezeichnet. Zudem hat die Anlagestrategie «Format Aktien Schweiz mittlere und kleinere Firmen» die beste Rendite in der Risikokategorie «Dynamisch» erzielt, ebenfalls über 12 Monate und über 24 Monate.

Format Aktien Schweiz mittlere und kleinere Firmen:
1. Rang im Anlage-Rating der BILANZ 2022, 2020, 2019, 2018 und 2017

Unsere Anlagestrategie „Format Aktien Schweiz mittlere und kleine Firmen“ beruht auf einer von Matthias Hug entwickelten und aktiv gemanagten Aktien-Anlagestrategie. Diese Strategie hat in den „BILANZ“-Rankings der Jahre 2022, 2020, 2019, 2018 und 2017 in der entsprechenden Anlagekategorie jeweils den ersten Rang belegt. 

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert in den Ausgaben 03/2022, 03/2020, 03/2019, 03/2018 und 05/2017 der «BILANZ».

Format Aktien Schweiz:
1. Rang im Anlage-Rating der BILANZ 2022

Unsere Anlagestrategie „Format Aktien Schweiz» hat im BILANZ-Ranking des Jahres 2022 in der Anlagekategorie «Moderat Dynamisch» den ersten Rang belegt.

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert in der Ausgabe 03/2022.

Format Ausgewogen International und Format Konservativ:
1. Rang im Anlage-Rating der BILANZ 2022 und 2021

Unsere Anlagestrategien „Format Aktien Ausgewogen International» und «Format Konservativ» haben im BILANZ-Ranking der Jahre 2022 und 2021 in den entsprechenden Anlagekategorien den ersten Rang belegt.

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert in den Ausgabe 03/2022 und 03/2021.

Format Obligationen Welt:
1. Rang im Anlage-Rating der
BILANZ 2013

Unsere Anlagestrategie „Format Obligationen Welt“ beruht auf einer von Matthias Hug entwickelten und aktiv gemanagten Obligationen-Anlagestrategie. Diese Strategie hat im „BILANZ“-Ranking 2013 in der entsprechenden Risikokategorie den ersten Rang belegt.

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert im Artikel «Geldkönige» in der Ausgabe 06/2013 der «BILANZ».

Auszeichnung als führender unabhängiger Vermögensverwalter

Das Schweizer Wirtschaftsmagazin «BILANZ» hat in einen gross angelegten Test unabhängige Schweizer Vermögensverwalter geprüft. Die zehn besten Vermögensverwalter wurden mit dem Prädikat «sehr gut» ausgezeichnet – darunter auch Matthias Hug (damals tätig für die Hug Invest AG). Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hens, Leiter des Instituts für Schweizerisches Bankwesen an der Universität Zürich, hat den Test entwickelt und wird unter anderem wie folgt zitiert: «Die besten unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter sind besser als die Banken».

Der Test und dessen Ergebnisse sind dokumentiert im Artikel «Die Besten Unabhängigen» in der Ausgabe 18/2010 der «BILANZ».